MBlog: Meditation: Bija Mantra Ritual

7-chakras-beginners.jpgBija Mantra

In Vedic tradition, “Bija Mantras” are used as tools for the expansion and widening of one’s mind by utilizing the power of sound vibrations. “Mantra” is a Sanskrit word made up of two syllables: “man” (mind) and “tra” (liberate). Thus in its most literal translation the word “Mantra” means “to liberate one’s mind”. In Sanskrit a “seed” is called “Bija.” The word “Mantra” when translated by virtue of its practical use relates to a sound that can “create transformation.”

Certain sounds which cannot be translated into a literal meaning but have the power to create great transformative growth and expansion in humans at the physical, emotional and spiritual levels are known as “Bija” or Seed Mantras.
A Simple Yet Powerful Bija Mantra Meditation Ritual


In yoga there are 7 specific Bija Mantras that vibrationally align our energy centers or chakras through sound energy:
Sound Healing | Chakras 2016-06-06 22-13-07.png
1. Root Chakra – Bija mantra: LAM (Pronounced as lum in alum)
2. Sacral Chakra – VAM (vum as in thumb)
3. Solar Plexus Chakra – RAM (rum)
4. Heart Chakra – YAM (yum as in yummy)
5. Throat Chakra – HAM (hum as in humming)
6. Third Eye Chakra – U ( u as in uber)
7. Crown Chakra – Om (aum)
For more information about chakras for beginners, visit this website:
About sound & frequencies visti this website:

01_Stationary_files_UEO_logo 2016-05-04 01-00-11







One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s